Snake Courses

Snake in grass

For many years the Park has provided special lectures and courses for organizations where their day to day activities bring their employees into contact with snakes. These courses have proved extremely beneficial to mining companies, paramedics and hospital staff, nature conservation officers, game park field officers, SA Police Service, SA Defence Force, Fire and Ambulance services.

We offer the following types of lectures and courses either at the Park or other venues within South Africa or other African countries.

SNAKE AWARENESS LECTURE

General Lecture and demonstration on snakes, how they live, their behaviour, snakes found in the area, snakebites and how to avoid being bitten, first aid and anti-venom treatment etc. No handling of snakes is involved. 1½ to 2 hour lecture using approximately 6 different live snakes. This lecture is aimed at general personnel and is suitable for large groups. More than one lecture can be done in one day.

BEGINNER SNAKE COURSE

This course is aimed at those people who find snakes fascinating but don’t know too much about them and would like to learn more about these interesting creatures. The course covers general information on the types of snakes in South Africa, their distribution, the venomous and benign species, their dentition, locomotion, identification, feeding, prey and predators, breeding and other interesting information. Basic first aid treatment for snakebites is also included in this course. Each student will receive a manual containing all the above mentioned information.

The course takes place from 9h00 to approximately 12h00 and various live snakes are introduced during the course. Each participant will sign an indemnity form before taking part in the Beginners Course. At the end of the course each participant will complete a questionnaire

A chart – “GUIDE TO VENOMOUS SNAKES OF SOUTHERN AFRICA” is included.

GUIDE TO VENOMOUS SNAKES OF SOUTHERN AFRICA preview

ADVANCED SNAKE COURSE

This course is aimed at those people who have already completed the Beginners Course and need more theoretical and practical experience. It is also an ideal course for senior personnel in an industrial environment where first aid on a snakebite may be required.

The course recaps on the general information and goes on to include more in depth detail on snake venoms and treatment for snakebites. It includes snake behaviour, the parasites and diseases of snakes. It also covers snake catching and handling of snakes.

There are 2 parts to this course, which also takes place on a Weekday (Special request for a Saturday). Beginning at 09h00 the 1st part will last until approximately 12h00. There will be a break with lunch until the 2nd part which will continue from 13h00 until completed where each participant will learn to catch various snakes. Each student will receive a manual containing all the above mentioned information.

Participants will complete a questionnaire which will be graded according to ability. Each participant will sign an indemnity before taking part in the Advanced Course.

If the Beginners Snake Course and Advance Snake Course is completed successfully the participants will receive a FGASA approved certificate showing their results. ( A lunch is included with the Advanced Snake Course )

Cost

BEGINNER SNAKE COURSE

R 760-00 per Participant ( When presented and attended at the Snake and Animal Park )

ADVANCE SNAKE COURSE

R 930-00 per Participant ( When presented and attended at the Snake and Animal Park )

Booking is essential and should be in writing. Payment can be made on or before the day of the course.

Dates 2017

February

BEGINNER

Sat. 4 February 2017
Sat. 18 February 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 5 February 2017
Sun. 19 February 2017

March

BEGINNER

Sat. 4 March 2017
Sat. 18 March 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 5 March 2017
Sun. 19 March 2017

April

BEGINNER

Sat. 1 April 2017
Sat. 15 April 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 2 April 2017
Sun. 16 April 2017

May

BEGINNER

Sat. 13 May 2017
Sat. 27 May 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 14 May 2017
Sun. 28 May 2017

June

BEGINNER

Sat. 10 June 2017
Sat. 24 June 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 11 June 2017
Sun. 25 June 2017

July

BEGINNER

Sat. 8 July 2017
Sat. 22 July 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 9 July 2017
Sun. 23 July 2017

August

BEGINNER

Sat. 5 August 2017
Sat. 19 August 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 6 August 2017
Sun. 20 August 2017

September

BEGINNER

Sat. 2 September 2017
Sat. 16 September 2017
Sat. 30 September 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 3 September 2017
Sun. 17 September 2017

October

BEGINNER

Sat. 14 October 2017
Sat. 28 October 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 1 October 2017
Sun. 15 October 2017
Sun. 29 October 2017

November

BEGINNER

Sat. 11 November 2017
Sat. 25 November 2017

ADVANCED

Sun. 12 November 2017
Sun. 26 November 2017

The park offers snake awareness lectures. Beginners & advanced courses to the general public and other professional bodies like: Medical staff, Hospitals & Mining Houses.

These courses are FGASA approved and certificates are issued to all participants who complete the course satisfactorily.

Top Bottom
Enquiries
Close
E N Q U I R I E S
Close